in Embedded System Design by

1 Answer

1 like 0 dislike
Best answer

There are two main types of task scheduling algorithm in Real-Time Operating Systems (RTOS).

1. Rate Monotonic Scheduling (RMS)

2. Earliest-Deadline-First (EDF)

Rate Monotonic Scheduling (RMS) :

  • Rate Monotonic Scheduling is the static scheduling algorithm.
  • Rate Monotonic Scheduling algorithm is used in Real Time Operating Systems (RTOS).
  • Rate Monotonic Scheduling is used for scheduling processes on a single processor.
  • Rate Monotonic Scheduling is a priority based scheduling.
  • In Rate Monotonic Scheduling the process with the shortest period has the highest priority.
  • Rate Monotonic Scheduling is useful in embedded systems.
  • The Rate Monotonic Scheduling assigns fixed priority to the processes based on the period.
  • The Rate Monotonic Scheduling algorithm put the process with a short period to highest priority and then next shortest period process and so on.
  • Rate Monotonic Scheduing do not support non-periodic processees.

selected by

Related questions

1 answer
2 answers
asked Dec 9, 2017 in Power Electronics by Quiz | 160 views
1 answer
asked Jan 27, 2018 in Embedded System Design by anonymous1 | 2,260 views
2 answers
1 answer
1 answer
1 answer
0 answers
asked Apr 10, 2018 in Computer Engineering by anonymous1 | 32 views
1 answer

9,129 questions

7,895 answers


3,202 users