Welcome to electrical and electronics engineering discussion website, Please login or register to continue.

Explain memory hierarchy.

Your answer

Thanks for your contribution. Feel free to answer this question. Please avoid short answer. Your answer is most welcome. Be genuine.

Upload image or document:

Your name to display (optional):
Privacy: Your email address will only be used for sending these notifications.
Anti-spam verification:
Are you a robot ? (Y = Yes / N = No)
To avoid this verification in future, please log in or register.

1 Answer

0 votes

Memory hierarchy:

Main memory is large, inexpensive, slow memory stores entire program and data.

Cache memory is small, expensive, fast memory stores copy of likely accessed parts of large memory.


There are four major storage levels.

1.Internal-Processor, register, and cache.

2.Main-the system RAM and controller cards.

3.On-line mass storage-secondary storage.

4.Off-line bulk storage-tertiary and off-line storage.

Memory or storage are classified into two categories:

1.volatile memory

2.non-volatile memory

In memory hierarchy the smaller memory is faster and larger memory storage is slower.

Welcome to Q&A site for electrical and electronics engineering discussion for diploma, B.E./B.Tech, M.E./M.Tech, & PhD study.
If you have a new question please ask in English.
If you want to help this community answer these questions.